This is the LAST TIME I am going to say this…

The following is a hoax.

To all my FB friends, may I request you to please do something for me: I want to stay PRIVATELY connected with you. However, with the recent changes in FB, the public can now see activities in any wall. This happens when our friends hit “like” or “comment”, automatically, their friends would see our posts too. Unfortunately, we cannot change this setting by ourselves because Facebook has configured it this way. So I need your help. Only you can do this for me. PLEASE place your mouse over my name above (do not click), a window will appear, now move the mouse on “FRIENDS” (also without clicking), then down to “Settings”, click here and a list will appear. REMOVE the CHECK on “COMMENTS & LIKE” by clicking on it. By doing this, my activity amongst my friends and my family will no longer become public. Many thanks! Paste this on your wall so your contacts would follow suit too, that is, if you care about your privacy.

So STOP falling for it.

An explanation can be found here. I have copied and pasted it for the hard of clicking.

The fact is that the basic premise of the above is incorrect. A friend liking a ‘friends only’ post by you will not make it visible to others who are not your friends on Facebook. It will still remain restricted within your friends on the social networking service. Only updates that have been set to ‘friends of friends’ and ‘public’ will be visible to non-friends.

Such hoaxes tend to take advantage of the user ignorance about Facebook’s complex privacy settings to make users believe in their content and get them to share it further.

What the hoax update asks users to do, that is to remove ‘comments and likes’, will actually make your Facebook ticker a lot drier. If you unsubscribe from a user’s ‘comments and likes’ you’ll not know what they have commented on or have liked. This will diminish discoverability on Facebook, an important aspect in social netwoking.

Moreover, if you unsubscribe for a particular user’s ‘comments and likes’ it is only you who will stop getting those updates, the rest of his/her friends who are still subscribed to can see the comments and likes.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

?php do_action( 'freedom_before_footer' ); ?>